Almost time to wrap it up……………….

IMG_3342

I feel as if I am finally coming to the end of this long journey. I have one last surgery to go, scheduled on February 26th. This is related to my breast reconstruction, a little bit of nipping and tucking, if you will and a very strange sort of divot that has appeared that also needs some attention. After that…..I”M DONE!  Done with it all and forever (one can only hope) Tied into that is my coming to terms with finishing this blog. Another lady whose cancer blog I follow, recently said, that now she is not undergoing any active treatment, blogging about every day life just seems, well, a bit self-indulgent and I agree. Sharing my life over the past, almost two years has helped me cope in ways I would never have imagined. I knew when it was time to write a post about some of the less savory issues of dealing with cancer, I reached to find that funny spot because I knew you wouldn’t want to read fear in my voice and once I had found it, it became even more amusing and less scary to me because,it is so true that laughter is the very best medicine. For me, writing about it was my way of staying calm. “Keep calm and carry on” as we Brits say. More than that though, I felt I needed to tell people, at first just my friends, then my clients, then the world. I had had not one but two separate cancers and look…….I’m coping, I’m working, I’m still living my life. It is not as bad as you might think.

When I was first diagnosed, I searched for someone out there in the cyber world who had been through my cancer too and lived to tell a positive tale. I didn’t find them. All I found were people with horrible tales to tell. So I thought “Right, I’ll do it” and I believe I have.Staying positive has never been a problem for me but I could not have done it if it were not for you. Those little messages of encouragement over the past two years have been such an invaluable part of my stamina, courage and recovery. You can NEVER know how much. Thank you all for every word, every card and every single dollar. I feel I could write a whole book on the kindness and generosity of my friends. Having cancer sucks, dealing with health insurance companies sucks, constantly worrying about going bankrupt sucks and will continue to suck for all the years it will take me to pay them off, but I am able to face it all so much easier because I know I have the love and support of so many people, all pulling for me.I felt and still feel I have this little fan club and I am not going to let any you down. One of my clients has a sister who is a Mother Superior at a convent on the east coast. She informed me that my name had been added to their prayer list back in 2011 and that every day since, 300 nuns have been praying for my recovery. Can you imagine that? One of the many things that have just blown me away. I have had over 13,000 hits on this blog since it’s inception and at last count people from sixty-eight different countries have clicked on to read about my life. It is all a bit mind-boggling. Especially when I think about some of the content….ehem!

I also just had my six month colon scan (all clear) and I will post agin, just to let you know how this last surgery goes and who knows maybe someday I’ll start another blog.For now though I’m getting ready to close the book on this chapter of my life. I am a better person for having cancer, it has been a vehicle to enrich my life…….who’d have thunk that!

7 thoughts on “Almost time to wrap it up……………….

  1. Tina, I am so happy that this journey in your life is coming to an end on a positive note. You have endured so much through out your colon and breast cancer diagnosis and treatment. Some day as you look back i imagine you will be amazed at how well you coped with all that has transpired. Thank you for sharing, caring, inspiring, and educating many who follow your blog. My very best to you. *`*Estelle

  2. Thank you so much for your candid, vulnerable, honest, hilarious way in which you have shared your journey. you inspired me to get that first colonoscopy AND let my hair be it’s real color which is not fake pepper, but real salt! and speaking of salt, you ARE the salt of the earth. thanks and know i will be sending prayers your way as you do that last surgery!

  3. I’m so glad that you’re coming to the end of the path and emerging happy and healthy. I’ll miss getting your humor and inspiration through my computer every so often, but will have to settle for getting it in person every 4-6 weeks! You are an amazing person who I’m very glad I know. And in my neck of the woods, we say, “keep calm and carry yarn.”

Leave a Reply

