Trip to Lichfield….

My last day in England (of course the weather was turning really nice for my departure) we went to my old stomping ground, Lichfield. I went to school here, and was confirmed at the rather spectacular cathedral in 1971, when I was still a sweet young thing (well, sweetish)The odd thing is, they have removed the immense stained glass windows at the back of the church and sent them to be restored, apparently, they represent the greatest collection of unrestored  16th century Flemish glass anywhere in the world, so that’s going to be a cheap little fixer up project, should spiff the old place up a treat in oh, I guess about ten years. Sorry you can’t see them. It does however look kind of cool with the clear glass they have put in for now.It was late afternoon and the sun was shining right through the big front window.                                                   Ceiling  looked nice too.I wandered around, taking pictures of this and that (I had to pay £2 for a photo pass so I was going to get my moneys worth) when I came upon this glass chalice.                                 Well, this must be for something really special.While I’m on the subject of beer, only in Britain ( maybe Germany) would you have a big ol’ topiary like this one in the middle of an island ( traffic circle)Ah, we do love our beer, but I digress, back to the cathedral. I don’t know about you but I love a good marble tomb and there are some pretty nice ones here.This chap must be a distant relative of Basil Rathbone……what a terrific nose.I’m afraid I might bore you with this next few, but I’ve got a thing for old hinges and tiles too. I don’t know about you but I think these are pretty fabulous.I would post more photos but at the risk of boring the pants off you I won’t. suffice to say, I had a wonderful time with my brother and his wife and rekindled my love of tea drinking, I can’t seem to stop making pots of it. This is from the tea shop in the village.I must also share this picture from a quick trip I took up north to see my good friends Janet and Chris. This is their son Alex and his new pug puppy Sid, a little pipsqueak at six weeks old.and yes, we are standing in front of one of Peter’s paintings as their house has, over the years, become an homage to his work. I think I might try to do this again next year. It is so easy to let years slip by and find excuses, but there is nothing like a brush with your own mortality to open your eyes to the things that really matter to you.

3 thoughts on “Trip to Lichfield….

  1. What a wonderful trip! So glad you made it there and it looks like you got the energy boost you needed to get through the next steps. Looking forward to seeing you soon.

  2. Hi Tina, thank you for sharing your trip and pictures with all of us. You look great. Glad you had a wonderful time and welcome back to the Seattle area.*~*Estelle

Leave a Reply

