Update on the day’s proceedings………..

[Originally posted on Wednesday, February 29, 2012]     

We spent the night in Seattle because we needed to check-in at 7.30am Thanks for the hospitality Traci and Steve , When I called to make an appointment for the MRI I was asked if I was claustrophobic, . I think I said “Hell yes!!” because I am not very happy in  small spaces. A pill was delivered to me and then I sat quietly for 45mins for it to take effect. I listened to my ipod and felt quite serene. That bit was short lived because once in the room that tube looks mighty long and very small inside. I had an IV put in then I lay face down and guess what….yep, holes for the boobs to fall through. Ear plugs in place, I was told to expect lots of noise and towards the end the whole thing would start to vibrate quite a lot (this could be exciting) ok, so I jumped out of my skin when it started up and that bit towards the end for sure shook a couple of fillings loose. All done and really not bad.There is a very strategically placed mirror so you can see daylight out the end of the tube and that helped a lot.

With the MRI under my belt Peter and I headed for the cancer institute to meet with the breast surgeon Dr H .Although I had heard he was a bit on the serious side he was really nice and almost board the pants off us he was so detailed. long and short of it. I am going to have a double mastectomy. So as I suspected, it will be curtains for the girls, poor things, I’ve really enjoyed them over the years and it is going to be a bit of a wrench to say goodbye, although, they do get in the way more often than not. I do not have to make any quick decisions about dates as this kind of cancer is slow to grow and so, I’m going to just enjoy these next couple of weeks recovering and learning to use my bum all over again, He he, hope I’m a quick learner. Peter will writing while I’m away the Swedish holiday camp, where I’m sure to be enjoying a morphine drip with a jello chaser.

Leave a Reply

