Cave exploration……..

[Originally posted in November 2011]

Well, after a beautifully relaxing weekend, spent on the Olympic Peninsular, it was with some trepidation that I arrived at my appointment with the gynecologist that specializes in cancer stricken female bits. She was super nice and spent ages with me talking about all my problems before asking me to hop up on the table for the dreaded cave exploration. I need not have worried it was quite painless, she didn’t think things looked too bad in there either and it seems as if all this shrinking business might be cleared up with a little estrogen cream and a lot of patience. It was also really terrific to talk to a woman about all this, I mean really, I love all my men Doc’s but there are some things that they just don’t understand and a shrinking vagina is one of them (you didn’t think I could go a whole post without saying it did you?). So, anyway it appears that this little problem stems as much from the menopause as it does from the radiation and she gave me some great tips on coping with the hot flashes too.Unfortunatly these tips are things like don’t drink alcohol (well that’s not going to happen) don’t take hot baths ( I flipping love a hot bath) wear and sleep in natural fibers, ok, so one out of three isn’t bad. Thanks Dr H you’re a peach.

Leave a Reply

